Fire Department

Fire Chief
Rod Smith
13 S. Broad Street
Hours: Call for appointment

The Elkhorn Area Fire Department has two divisions – Fire and Emergency Medical Service. The Fire Division provides fire protection services for the City of Elkhorn, Town of Sugar Creek, and portions of the Town of Geneva and Lafayette. An advisory board comprised of members from each of the four municipalities oversees the operations of the department. In 2002, the Emergency Medical Service integrated with the Fire Department creating the EMS Division.  Funding of the operations is shared on a pro-rata basis with the City at 45% and the Towns at 55%.Two EMS employees in front of ambulance.

Fire and EMS are housed next to City Hall on South Broad Street. The non-emergency number is (262)723-2277. Call 911 in an emergency.

A full-time salaried Fire Chief manages the day-to-day operations. Services provided by the Department include fire suppression, fire prevention and inspections, and safety education programs. A full-time secretary oversees the EMS billing and scheduling. A part-time Assistant Fire/EMS Chief assists the Fire Chief in both divisions. The Department consists 87 paid/on call volunteers – 47 firefighters and 40 EMS personnel.

The Fire Chief is Rod Smith. You may contact him at (262)723-2277.