Police Department

Quick Links

Texting and Driving:  A National Epidemic
Family Watchdog  - free service to locate registered sex offenders
Elkhorn Police Encourage Drivers to "Put it Down"
PDF Document
Crime Alert Network Brochure
Victim Information & Notification Everyday "Vine Link"
PDF Document
Winter Parking and Driving Tips

click here to follow us on FacebookClick here to follow us on Twitter


Police Chief
Joel Christensen
100 W. Walworth Street
Office Hours:
Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Officers are on duty at all times.
In case of an emergency, dial 911.

The Department consists of 16 full-time sworn personnel, one full-time secretary/dispatcher, one full-time dispatcher and two part-time Community Service Officers. Among the 16 sworn officers are the Police Chief, Captain, two Sergeants, School Liaison Officer, two Detectives and nine Patrol Officers.

The police department is divided into four divisions: administration, patrol operations, criminal investigations, and emergency communications.

The administration division; which includes the Chief of Police, Captain and Secretary, serves as the department’s central administrative and support element for all law enforcement activities.

The patrol division is the most visible presence of the police department.  Assigned to patrol in marked police vehicles, officers of the patrol division provide emergency services to the community 24-hours per day, 365 days per year.  The patrol division is directly responsible for the protection of life and property, prevention of criminal activity, preliminary investigation of offenses reported by the public, apprehension of criminal offenders, investigation of traffic accidents, and continuous preventative patrol of the community.

The criminal investigations division is responsible for the investigation of adult and juvenile criminal and quasi-criminal offenses not cleared by the initial responding officer.

The emergency communications division, headed by Secretary Theresa Boeger, is responsible for answering police and fire department telephone lines as well as dispatching police units and serving as the police department’s receptionist.

Hours of Operation

The Elkhorn Police Department is on duty 24 hours; 7 days a week; 365 days a year. The Police Station is located at 100 W. Walworth Street. Office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.  All other times please call the non-emergency number (262)723-2210. In an emergency, please call 911.