Government Overview

City HallThe City of Elkhorn operates under a traditional Mayor-Council form of government with an appointed City Administrator. Acting in a combined legislative-executive capacity, the Mayor and six-member Common Council have primary responsibility in matters of public policy formulation, establishing short-term and long-range goals for the City, and the enactment of local laws. The Administrator is responsible for seeing that the Council’s policies and directives are implemented.

Administration and Finance is the central management unit of City Government with offices at City Hall. The Department consists of the City Administrator, being the Chief Administrative Officer, the City Clerk, the Finance Director and the City Treasurer.

City Departments include: Public Works, Parks and Recreation, Police, Electric Utility, Fire/EMS, Municipal Court and Library. Click here to go to City Services.